Dahab & Sinai

Dahab & Sinai
Dahab, Egypt

Dahab, Egypt


Oh I love Dahab.

So hot and I’m exhausted but it’s totally beautiful – it has a real holiday/touristy feel to it & it’s good to see the ocean again.

Last night, Caoimhe and I climbed Mt. Sinai, so another night spent travelling rather than sleeping. Sleep is for the weak as the adage goes.

We caught a bus at around ten pm to Sinai, passing numerous checkpoints and having to flash our passports and pay random amounts of money. Hehe, they think tourists are so dumb. And we are.

The climb itself was rather gruelling; bless Caoimhe – she had a bit of trouble and wanted to turn back at several points. The ubiquitous, ridiculously overpriced (and most probably not RSPCA approved) camel hire outlets really didn’t help matters. A situation seems all the more dire somehow when there appears to be an easy out. And our cheeky guide calling out encouraging remarks as he was skipping up the mountain kind of compounded if I’m honest. 🙂

I had one of those ‘this is so surreal’ travelling moments as the lactic acid was possibly building up to my brain. 🙂 Here I am, in the middle of the desert in the middle of Egypt following a bloke in a dress in the mountain that many people believe is where Moses recieved the ten commandments.

Wow.

I am so blessed to have had so many experiences that so many people can only dream of.

Finally our jelly legs got us to the top for sunrise. I was surprised to notice that we had beaten up by a Korean Church Choir. Speaking of ubiquitous…

The Sinai sunset was one of the prettiest things I’ve seen – I’ve not seen anything like it before. Not sure my vocabularly can do it any justice so check out pics.


Leave a Reply

